cast.Make a video · Free

Seedance 2.0 vs Kling 3: which is better for character videos?

On published specs they are close: Seedance 2.0 and Kling 3.0 both make clips up to 15 seconds with native audio and lip sync[3] [9], and Seedance 2.0 takes up to 9 reference images per generation[1]. Note that Kling's newest model is now Kling 4.0, with 30-second clips and up to 15 reference assets[9], which matches Seedance 2.5 rather than 2.0; we have rendered many character videos with Seedance and none with Kling, so treat the Kling side as specs only.

First, the versions

The question usually means Seedance 2.0 against Kling 3.0, and both have newer siblings[10] [1]. Kling's homepage headlines Kling 4.0 as its newest video model[8], and ByteDance released Seedance 2.5 on 2026-07-31[2]. A fair comparison pairs Seedance 2.0 with Kling 3.0, and Seedance 2.5 with Kling 4.0, by clip length[4] [9]. Kling 3.0 is also offered inside other apps: Runway's paid plans include it alongside Seedance 2.5[11], and Luma's plans include Kling 3.0 and Seedance too[12].

The specs side by side (as of 2026-10-18)

From ByteDance Seed, BytePlus and Kling's own pages. Kling prices could not be verified on its site.
Seedance 2.0Kling 3.0Seedance 2.5Kling 4.0
Max clip length15 s[3]15 s[9]30 s[4]30 s (from 3 s)[9]
Character references9 images, 3 videos, 3 audio clips[1]Improved character consistency; reference count not stated on its page[10]30 images, 10 videos, 10 audio clips[2]Omni Reference: up to 15 assets incl. multiple views of a character[9]
KeyframesFirst frame (image-to-video)Not statedFirst frame (image-to-video)Start, end and up to 10 keyframes[9]
Audio and lip syncNative audio[1]Native audio with lip sync; dialogue for several characters in one scene[10]Native audio, 11 languages[4]Improved lip sync, stereo, 9 dialogue languages[9]
List price$0.76 per 5 s at 720p; Fast $0.60[5]Could not verify$1.156 per 5 s at 720p[5]Could not verify

Keeping the character's face

This is what matters most for character videos, and it is where we can only speak first-hand for one side. In our Seedance renders, one master reference picture plus a fixed written description held a character's face across dozens of separate videos, including a three-character dance on 2.0 Fast (Own It). Where it failed: friends in group shots drifted toward each other until we described each one separately, and a character who resembled a famous actor was blocked by the copyright filter again and again.

On paper Kling 4.0 has two tools Seedance does not: Omni Reference is designed to take multiple views of the same character[9], and keyframes let you pin the face at up to 10 points[9]. Kling 3.0's page claims improved character consistency and multi-speaker dialogue with matched voices and lip movement[10]. Those are Kling's claims; we have not tested them, and we are not going to guess at a winner on face retention without renders.

Price

Seedance prices are published by many providers: about $0.60 for a 5-second 720p Seedance 2.0 Fast clip and $0.76 for full 2.0 on BytePlus[5], and $0.15 a second for 2.0 Fast on Replicate[7]. Our own account was quoted $0.29 for a 5-second 2.0 Fast clip on 2026-10-16. Kling's membership and API price pages did not render readable prices when we checked, so we could not verify Kling plan prices, credit costs or API rates as of 2026-10-18[8]. Kling says it has free generation options for eligible users and that free exports generally carry a watermark[9].

Rules that affect characters

Verdict

Where Cast fits

Where it does not:

People also ask

Which keeps the character's face better, Seedance or Kling?
We can only answer for Seedance, which held faces well for us with a reference image and fixed description. Kling 4.0 advertises multi-view Omni Reference and keyframes for consistency[9], but we have no Kling renders to compare.
Which is cheaper, Seedance or Kling?
Seedance 2.0 Fast lists at about $0.60 per 5-second 720p clip on BytePlus[5]. We could not verify Kling's prices on its own site as of 2026-10-18[8].
Which has better audio?
Both generate native audio with lip sync[1] [10]. Kling 4.0 adds stereo and 9 dialogue languages[9]; Seedance 2.5 lists 11 languages[4].
How long can each clip be?
Seedance 2.0 and Kling 3.0 go to 15 seconds; Seedance 2.5 and Kling 4.0 go to 30 seconds[4] [9].
Which Kling model is the newest?
Kling's homepage headlines Kling 4.0 as its newest video model[8], so Kling 3.0 is the previous generation.

Sources

Claims about other companies come from their own pages, read on the date shown. Products and prices change; check the link for the current version.

  1. ByteDance Seed: Seedance 2.0 official launch (read )
  2. ByteDance Seed: Introducing Seedance 2.5 (read )
  3. BytePlus ModelArk: Seedance 2.0 (read )
  4. BytePlus ModelArk: Seedance 2.5 (read )
  5. BytePlus ModelArk: model pricing (read )
  6. BytePlus ModelArk: Seedance portrait asset guide (read )
  7. Replicate: bytedance/seedance-2.0-fast (read )
  8. Kling AI: home page (read )
  9. Kling AI: AI video generator (Kling 4.0) (read )
  10. Kling AI: Kling Video 3.0 (read )
  11. Runway: pricing (read )
  12. Luma AI: pricing (read )

Related answers

Part of the Cast answers library (Seedance).

Updated