What is Kling 3.0?
Kling 3.0, also called Kling Video 3.0, is a Kling AI video model that added multi-shot generation, better character consistency, native audio with lip sync and longer clips than Video 2.6[1]. It makes clips of up to 15 seconds, and it has since been followed by Kling 4.0, which goes to 30 seconds[2].
What was new in this version
- Multi-shot generation: one generation can contain more than one shot[1].
- Character consistency: Kling lists improved character consistency for this version[1].
- Native audio with lip sync: dialogue, sound effects and ambience come out of the same render[1][2].
- Several speakers: you can give lines to several characters in one scene, and Kling matches each voice and lip movement[1].
- Longer clips: longer durations than Video 2.6, up to 15 seconds per generation[1][2].
In practice, multi-speaker dialogue is the headline. Before native audio, a two-person conversation meant generating silent video, recording voices and lip-syncing afterwards. A model that renders the lines with the picture removes two steps, though you still have to write the dialogue tightly enough to fit the clip length.
Version 3.0 vs version 4.0
| Kling 3.0 | Kling 4.0 | |
|---|---|---|
| Clip length per generation | Up to 15 s[2] | 3 to 30 s[2] |
| References | Improved character consistency; reference count not stated[1] | Omni Reference: up to 15 images, videos and subjects[2] |
| Keyframes | Not stated on the version page | Start, end and up to 10 flexible keyframes[2] |
| Audio | Native audio, multi-speaker lip sync[1] | Adds improved lip sync, stereo and 9 dialogue languages[2] |
| Where you find it | Kling, and inside Runway and Luma plans[3][4] | Headlined as newest on Kling's homepage[5] |
If you are choosing today, Kling 4.0 is the model Kling itself promotes[5]. Kling 3.0 matters mainly because it is the version other apps carry: Runway's and Luma's pricing pages both list Kling 3.0 in their plans[3][4].
How much it costs
We could not verify a price for this model on Kling itself: the membership page showed no plan prices or credit costs when we loaded it. Through Runway, it is included in paid plans that start at $15 a month for 625 credits[3]; through Luma, plans start at $30 a month for 10,000 credits[4]. Neither page gives a Kling-specific credit rate, so check it inside the app before you budget. See how much Kling AI costs for the rest of what we found.
Can you use it for free?
Kling's free tier applies to eligible accounts, and which models and resolutions it covers depends on the account and current promotions[2]. Free exports generally carry a watermark[2]. Runway's free plan gives 125 one-time credits on a limited set of models[3], and the page does not say Kling 3.0 is one of them. For how it compares with Seedance on character videos, see our Seedance and Kling comparison.
If what you want is a short vertical character clip with dialogue rather than a particular model, Cast runs on Seedance 2.0 Fast and Seedance 2.5, which also render speech with the picture; your first 5-second video is free with no sign-up.
Where Cast fits
- You want 5 to 15 second vertical character clips without choosing between model versions.
- You want dialogue rendered with the video from a one-line idea.
- You want up to 3 characters in one clip, each from its own reference look.
Where it does not:
- Multi-shot sequences planned shot by shot with keyframes.
- Using your own image as the start frame: Cast characters are drawn from text.
- Clips over 15 seconds.
People also ask
- How long can its clips be?
- Up to 15 seconds per generation for Kling 3.0, against 3 to 30 seconds for Kling 4.0[2].
- Does it generate audio?
- Yes. Kling 3.0 renders native audio with lip sync and can assign dialogue to several characters in one scene[1].
Sources
Claims about other companies come from their own pages, read on the date shown. Products and prices change; check the link for the current version.
- Kling AI: Video 3.0 (read )
- Kling AI: AI video generator (Kling 4.0) (read )
- Runway: pricing (read )
- Luma AI: pricing (read )
- Kling AI: home page (read )
- Pika: pricing (read )
Related answers
- Is Kling AI free?
- How much does Kling AI cost?
- Seedance 2.0 vs Kling 3: which is better for character videos?
- Is Kling AI worth it in 2026?
- Kling vs Veo 3: which is better for AI video?
Part of the Cast answers library (Kling).
Updated